MG Summer Reading Gala!

05/25/2010 7:00 pm

The end of May means that the school year is drawing to a close, and it’s time to get excited about summer reading options! Mysterious Galaxy celebrates on Tuesday, May 25, at 7:00 PM, with our Summer Reading Gala. Young Adult Program Coordinator Suzanne Dupree will be the hostess, and local young adult fantasy author Cindy Pon will emcee our great panel of four tween and teen authors. Cindy will not only perform in the role of Barbara Walters for the evening, but will also be available to sign copies of Silver Phoenix: Beyond the Kingdom of Xia.


Author Richard Harland was born in England, moved to Autrralia, earned a Ph.D. with a thesis on the theory of the origin of language, and wrote a number of novels for adults and young adults that were published in the U.K., and has won the Australian Auralis Award twice. Now his works come to U.S. readers with Worldshaker, his steampunk/Victoriana fantasy, in the tradition of Philip Pullman and Jonathan Stroud. Col Porpetine lives a cozy life on the juggernaut Worldshaker, a mobile city as big as a mountain. Ruled by Queen Victoria the Second and commanded by Sir Mormus Porpentine, it moves on rollers over land and across sea. Then Col meets a young girl who turns his life upside down.


Fortunately for readers, local author Barrie Summy so does do quirky tween mysteries featuring middle-school student Sherry (Sherlock) Holmes Baldwin, and the ghost of her cop mom, in the “I So Don’t Do …” Series. The Phoenix native first was drawn into the world of supernatural sleuthing while visiting San Diego in I So Don’t Do Mysteries. Since then she has assisted her mom, stepmom,  and (also deceased) grandmother in I So Don’t Do Spooky, and in I So Don’t Do Makeup, she is working on a real world mystery, trying to discover who tampered with the makeup she and her friends applied at a sleepover.


Acclaimed young adult fantasy author Megan Whalen Turner continues her epic saga with A Conspiracy of Kings, the fourth installment in what Publishers Weekly calls an “absorbing political drama.” Sophos, once known as Useless the Younger in earlier volumes, is now the reluctant heir to the throne of Sounis. While he would rather concentrate on poetry than politics, his agenda is disrupted when he is kidnapped and sold into slavery – now he much choose between living as a ruler in a position he doesn’t want, or remaining in obscurity. Established fans of The Thief, The King of Attolia and The Queen of Attolia, and readers new to the world will welcome the chance to visit with Megan.


San Diego author Greg Van Eekhout has a nice selection of award-nominated short stories to his name, as well as last year’s adult science fantasy novel, Norse Code, which is a Locus Magazine nominee for Best First Novel. What kid wouldn’t love the chance to spend the summer with his great-uncle at a beach town, helping out at Professor Griswald’s Museum of the Strange and Curious? Any kid who appreciates regular food, modern technology, and neighborhood kids who don’t look … well … fishy. But that’s the scenario young Thatcher finds himself in in Kid vs. Squid, Greg’s new middle-reader adventure. We believe MG is far enough from the ocean that Greg will not feed any attending kids to squid at the event, but we make no guarantees.


And Hostess Suzanne will not only be on hand to assist attendees in finding great summer reads, but also have materials on hand to share about how interested kids and parents can connect their local teachers and librarians with visiting authors for appearances at schools and libraries.

Worldshaker (Hardcover)

$17.84
ISBN-13: 9781416995524
Availability: Not in stock, but can usually be shipped within the week.
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 5/2010
Col, among the elite on the juggernaut Worldshaker, learns the terrible truth about the nature of his society in a steampunk novel by Richard Harland

Kid Vs. Squid (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781599904894
Availability: On Our Shelves Now!
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 5/2010
Thatcher Hill is bored stiff of his summer job dusting the fake mermaids and shrunken heads at his uncle's seaside Museum of Curiosities. But when a mysterious girl steals an artifact from the museum, Thatcher's summer becomes an adventure that takes him from the top of the ferris wheel to the depths of the sea. Following the thief, he learns that she is a princess of the lost Atlantis. Her people have been cursed by an evil witch to drift at sea all winter and wash up on shore each summer to an even more terrible fate?working the midway games and food stands on the boardwalk. Can Thatcher help save them before he, too, succumbs to the witch's curse? With sharp, witty writing that reads like a middle-grade Douglas Adams' Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Greg van Eekhout's first book for young readers is a wild ride packed with as many laughs as it has thrills.

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780061870934
Availability: Not in stock, but can usually be shipped within the week.
Published: Greenwillow Books, 4/2010
Sophos, under the guidance of yet another tutor, practices his swordplay and strategizes escape scenarios should his father's villa come under attack. How would he save his mother? His sisters? Himself? Could he reach the horses in time? Where would he go? But nothing prepares him for the day armed men, silent as thieves, swarm the villa courtyard ready to kill, to capture, to kidnap. Sophos, the heir to the throne of Sounis, disappears without a trace. In Attolia, Eugenides, the new and unlikely king, has never stopped wondering what happened to Sophos. Nor has the Queen of Eddis. They send spies. They pay informants. They appeal to the gods. But as time goes by, it becomes less and less certain that they will ever see their friend alive again. Across the small peninsula battles are fought, bribes are offered, and conspiracies are set in motion. Darkening the horizon, the Mede Empire threatens, always, from across the sea. And Sophos, anonymous and alone, bides his time. Sophos, drawing on his memories of Gen, Pol, the magus—and Eddis—sets out on an Badventure that will change all of their lives forever.

$17.84
ISBN-13: 9780385737883
Availability: Not in stock, but can usually be shipped within the week.
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers, 5/2010
What's better than a sleepover? A sleepover with makeovers! Sherry and her friends have an awesome time with eye shadow, glitter, and more hair products than a salon. But when the girls wake up the next morning with serious skin issues, Sherry is freaked. Someone must have tampered with her makeup! It turns out that the mall's cosmetics kiosk has had lots of products returned by upset customers. Sherry is determined to get to the bottom of things. After all, she's a bit of a crime-solving celebrity (well, at least in the spirit world). Ghost academies around the world are impressed by Sherry's and her ghost mom's skills. And if anyone can solve a mystery involving mascara, it's Sherry Holmes Baldwin. This third mystery about fast-thinking sleuth Sherry Holmes Baldwin is perfect for tweens and teens who love investigating with heroines they can relate to. What's better than a sleepover? A sleepover with makeovers! Sherry and her friends have an awesome time with eye shadow, glitter, and more hair products than a salon. But when the girls wake up the next morning with serious skin issues, Sherry is freaked. Someone must have tampered with her makeup! It turns out that the mall's cosmetics kiosk has had lots of products returned by upset customers. Sherry is determined to get to the bottom of things. After all, she's a bit of a crime-solving celebrity (well, at least in the spirit world). Ghost academies around the world are impressed by Sherry's and her ghost mom's skills. And if anyone can solve a mystery involving mascara, it's Sherry Holmes Baldwin. This third mystery about fast-thinking sleuth Sherry Holmes Baldwin is perfect for tweens and teens who love investigating with heroines they can relate to.

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780061730214
Availability: On Our Shelves Now!
Published: Greenwillow Books, 5/2009
No one wanted Ai Ling. And deep down she is relieved—despite the dishonor she has brought upon her family—to be unbetrothed and free, not some stranger's subservient bride banished to the inner quarters. But now, something is after her. Something terrifying—a force she cannot comprehend. And as pieces of the puzzle start to fit together, Ai Ling begins to understand that her journey to the Palace of Fragrant Dreams isn't only a quest to find her beloved father but a venture with stakes larger than she could have imagined. Bravery, intelligence, the will to fight and fight hard . . . she will need all of these things. Just as she will need the new and mysterious power growing within her. She will also need help. It is Chen Yong who finds her partly submerged and barely breathing at the edge of a deep lake. There is something of unspeakable evil trying to drag her under. On a quest of his own, Chen Yong offers that help . . . and perhaps more.

Location: 
Street:
Mysterious Galaxy
Additional:
7051 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. Suite #302
City:
San Diego
,
Province:
California
Postal Code:
92111
Country:
United States